24
Sep
07

Are we still Adolescents?

Dr. Al Mohler, in his daily blog, discusses a book called The Death of the Grown-up. You can go here to read it, then come back and share your thoughts. One line to get you thinking:

Some demographers are suggesting that adolescence should be seen as extending . . . until age thirty-four.”

I guess I am a grown-up now, being thirty-six! 🙂 Another thought-provoking excerpt he quotes is the following:

“These days, of course, father and son dress more or less alike . . .both equally at ease in the baggy rumple of eternal summer camp. In the mature male, these trappings of adolescence have become more than a matter of comfort and style; they reveal a state of mind, a reflection of a personality that hasn’t fully developed, and doesn’t want to—or worse, doesn’t know how.”

So, are they being a little harsh, or do you think they are onto something?

2 Responses to “Are we still Adolescents?”


  1. October 5, 2007 at 3:35 pm

    I must admit that I have not read the blog entry yet, though I would like to, (your wife is keeping me sufficiantly busy in my reading with SWI!!) but I must agree so far. I think this is also evidenced in the multitude of parents (men & women alike, unfortunately believers and non) who try to be thier childrens’ best friends as opposed to thier loving & guiding authority. I don’t think he is being harsh in the quote you have posted.

  2. October 8, 2007 at 10:29 am

    I agree. Keep up the work in SWI- I think it will be worth it!


Leave a Reply

