11
Sep
09

A Nurse’s Perspective

Good Evening!  My name is Carrie Conn, and Amy asked me to give the post update tonight concerning Mark’s progress.  Amy and I graduated from high school together all the way back in 1990, and God has allowed us to continue to serve Him at Inter-City Baptist Church.  Having a nursing degree and a background in taking care of Intensive Care Unit patients several years ago, I thought that encouraging Barb through her first dressing change on Mark’s leg today would be rather typical and routine…………boy was my assumption way off!!   Wow!  I could not believe my eyes.   I can only testify of God’s mercy and grace that has allowed Mark to keep his leg from amputation.  The wounds are way deeper and wider than envisioned.  The swelling of his leg is beyond description as well.  There is really no medical or scientific explanation of why he still has his leg except for God’s grace and mercy.  Leaving his house today, one can not help but marvel as well that God protected his kidneys, liver, and heart from shutting down after sustaining such a significant injury…..all vital organs typically shut down with the type of injury he incurred.  May God be praised!  Please continue to pray for Mark and for his family.  As stated, his leg has sustained serious damage, and is extremely vulnerable to infection and circulation problems.  He has many months of healing and is expecting many surgeries ahead on his leg.   Because of insurance problems, his mom is his main caretaker as well.  Please pray for Barb as she has had a crash course in caring for wounds typically cared for by trained professionals.  (It took close to 3 hours today to complete the first dressing change to Mark’s wounds at home!)  She is doing a great job of caring for him, but please pray for God to strengthen and encourage her inner being.  (Eph. 3:16).    Though Mark’s wounds are deep and wide and vast.. ….we know that Christ’s love for Mark is immeasurable!  May Mark, Barb, and the rest of his family be comforted with knowing that God’s people are praying for them :  “For this reason I kneel before the Father, from whom his whole family in heaven and on earth derives its name.  I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith.  And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, may have power, together with all the saints, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, and to know this love that surpasses knowledge–that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.  Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is a work within us, to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever!  Amen.”  (Eph. 3:14-21).
1 Response to “A Nurse’s Perspective”


  1. 1 Sarah Calger
    September 12, 2009 at 2:15 pm

    Dear Mark,
    You do not know me but I feel as if I know you since I have been praying for you and your family. I would have left you a message earlier but I didn’t figure out until today how to do that-guess I’m not very computer savy. Anyway, I work with your sister Anna. We teach first grade together. From the beginning, I have been praying for you. Anna gives me updates each day at school and I continue to pray. I am praising the Lord that you are doing so much better. I will continue to pray for your leg. I can’t imagine how you feel and what you are going through. But, I do know that the Lord does understand and He can help you. Don’t give up! You have a wonderful family who cares about you very much. Keep getting better! I look forward to hearing good news of improvement. Take care!
    In Christ,
    Sarah


Leave a Reply

