22
Oct
09

Homebodies, er, I mean, Homebuilders Abroad

I am ready to get home!

Please don’t get me wrong, I am very grateful for the privilege and opportunity to go abroad. I take at least yearly, what, for many people, are trips of a lifetime. I am honored to be able to teach some of what the Lord has taught me. What a glorious thought that what I am teaching may inspire some young men to have courageous, faith-filled lives like Joshua, or the committment to the work of God seen in Nehemiah (yes, I am teaching the Historical Books!).  I myself am inspired by the courageous faith and committment in the lives of the cross-cultural brothers I am teaching this week. When I spend a week with them, I am renewed in my confidence in the gospel and the Church!

However, I cannot escape the fact that I am a homebody. I miss my wife and kids. I have already skyped home multiple times.  About this point in a week I get my laptop out and start looking at pictures.   Last year, I was on Kingfisher Airways in the middle of India. They were showing a family comedy, and I was crying in the middle of a bunch of curry and Indians. Crazy American!  I took a study-break walk yesterday and enjoyed a beautiful sunset beside a cloudburst on the ocean, but even more beautiful than that to me is the red and golden bursts of leaves on our Michican Oaks and Maples.

I love teaching brothers and sisters around the world, but I love my brothers and sisters back home the most. It is an honor to preach the gospel in distant lands, but my neighbors need it just as badly. I am ready to get home.

Speaking of which, I hope the Homebuilders ABF activity went well. I certainly was sad to miss it. In my sentimental picture journey, I came across this pic from the Vanhouten’s place. Do any of these kids look familiar? VanHouten Homebuilders Activity  I have spent much of this evening studying, part of that being for our lesson Sunday finishing Proverbs 6.  I could  not get past the first couple verses of the next section: 

20 My son, observe the commandment of your father, And do not forsake the teaching of your mother; 21 Bind them continually on your heart; Tie them around your neck. 22 When you walk about, they will guide you; When you sleep, they will watch over you; And when you awake, they will talk to you. 23 For the commandment is a lamp, and the teaching is light; And reproofs for discipline are the way of life.”

I think God is leading me this Sunday just to focus on the question, which really isn’t the main point of this entire section, “Are we passing on commandments and teaching to our children?” Or, to put it differently, “Are our kids wearing ties, having guides, being watched and hearing voices?” I need to continually recommit myself to giving my kids teaching that will guide and watch over them. I want them to hear voices (mine and the Spirit’s, that is) in their head when they contemplate decisions. I hope you do to.

See you all Sunday, the Lord willing.

Pastor Pearson

P.S. I just got dinner. Very tasty. Hearkened me back to my early years when my dad used to get KFC Fried Gizzards (ok, I’d better not think too much on this). Bok choy and a fried egg to boot!

0 Responses to “Homebodies, er, I mean, Homebuilders Abroad”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

