18
Jul
10

Warning: Four Ways to Exasperate Your Children

Pastor Doran preached his third sermon in the series on “Getting Your House in Order” from Colossians 3:20-21 this morning. It should be up on his sermonaudio page  Monday sometime.  If you weren’t here, you should definitely listen to it. 

Very helpful were his shepherding points of application: Four ways to exasperate or dishearten your children.

  1. Change the rules constantly and do it without any rhyme or reason. (Often changes are based on the mood of the parent)
  2. Set unrealistic expectations based on your dreams and out of touch with their reality. (every parent thinks their child is the next “it,” making them think they are only successful if they achieve “x.”
  3. Focus only or mainly on their failures. (This is particularly a problem for dad’s, who often only focus when there is a problem).
  4. Worry more about what people think of you than about what is going on in your child’s life. (This will lead to your children becoming people pleasers).

Also, from a postive standpoint:

  1. Set wise boundaries and maintain them with discernment. Pay attention to what really matters. Emphasize the one overriding expectation–to love and serve the Lord.  Success is about that, not about achieving something in this world.
  2. Correct your children–don’t criticize them.
  3. Commend them often.
  4. Remind yourself as a parent often that your final assessment is from the Lord. 
  5. Remember that if anything good happens it is of the grace of God. Don’t be a proud parent with all the answers for every child.

May God in His grace help us!

12 Responses to “Warning: Four Ways to Exasperate Your Children”


  1. 1 nicole
    July 19, 2010 at 10:29 am

    thanks for posting this! it was an excellent message with many great reminders and challenges.

  2. April 1, 2013 at 12:21 pm

    Well I sincerely liked reading it. This subject procured by you
    is very constructive for accurate planning.

  3. May 5, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    Wow, fantastic blog layout! How long have you been blogging for?
    you make blogging look easy. The overall look of your site is excellent, let
    alone the content!

  4. May 6, 2013 at 2:47 pm

    Everything is very open with a very clear clarification of the issues.
    It was truly informative. Your website is very
    useful. Thank you for sharing!

  5. May 6, 2013 at 9:29 pm

    After exploring a number of the articles on your web site, I really
    like your technique of writing a blog. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be checking back soon.
    Please check out my website too and tell me how you feel.

  6. May 6, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement
    account it. Look advanced to far added agreeable
    from you! However, how could we communicate?

  7. May 7, 2013 at 12:23 am

    I pay a visit each day some sites and websites to read articles, except this blog presents quality based content.

  8. May 7, 2013 at 6:11 am

    The other day, while I was at work, my cousin
    stole my iphone and tested to see if it can survive a thirty
    foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken
    and she has 83 views. I know this is entirely off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

  9. June 4, 2013 at 12:34 am

    You could certainly see your skills within the work you
    write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    Always go after your heart.

  10. June 4, 2013 at 7:17 am

    Thanks for the good writeup. It actually was a enjoyment account it.
    Look complex to far added agreeable from you!
    By the way, how can we keep in touch?

  11. June 6, 2013 at 4:20 am

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It really helpful & it helped me out much. I’m hoping to give something again
    and aid others like you aided me.

  12. June 29, 2013 at 2:39 am

    Good day! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Regardless, I’m certainly delighted I came across it and I’ll be bookmarking it
    and checking back regularly!


Leave a Reply

