19
Jul
11

Tuesday Morning Meditation

Feeling a little under-fueled by the egg product and biscuit, I have found some real fuel in God’s Word! Parents (and others), I hope you won’t mind me sharing with you.

If you are reading through the “Book at a time” Bible reading program, perhaps you were struck by today’s reading from 1 Chronicles. I was especially encouraged by David’s instruction to his son Solomon in 28:9,10 and 20:

As for you, my son Solomon, know the God of your father, and serve Him with a whole heart and a willing mind; for the Lord searches all hearts and understands every intent of the thoughts. If you seek Him He will let you find Him; but if you forsake Him He will reject you forever. Consider now, for the Lord has chosen you to build a house for the sanctuary; be courageous and act. (9,10)

Be strong and courageous, and act; do not fear nor be dismayed, for the Lord God, my God, is with you. He will not fail you nor forsake you until all the work for the service of the house of the Lord is finished. (20)

I was taught by the Spirit through this on a few levels:

  1. In order to serve God effectively, I need to continue to  seek Him and know Him with a whole heart and willing mind.  Knowing God is not just heart work, and it is not just mind-work, neither is it one without the other. We whole-heartedly and mind-engagedly seek and know God.
  2. When God has called, gifted, and tasked us for serving Him, we need to first know Him, but then act with courage and resolve.  I find myself to be too hesitant and lacking in courage many times when I know God has called me to act for His glory.
  3. When God leads us to serve Him, whether in building a temple in Solomon’s case, or leading a family or serving in the church in our cases, He will be with us and will not fail or forsake us.  This inspires and fuels our confidence to know Him more and act for Him.
  4. More basically–David was telling his son this.  Am I consistently teaching Grace and Pearson IV these truths with both my actions and my words? Do they see my mind and heart engaged in knowing God and in serving Him without fear?

Have a great day serving Christ!

1 Response to “Tuesday Morning Meditation”


  1. July 19, 2011 at 11:27 pm

    thanks for sharing these thoughts!


Leave a Reply

